Outside Lands Festival is Almost Here!

3 08 2009

As I was making plans to attend San Diego’s Street-Scene, I was so bummed to see that it falls on the same weekend as San Francisco’s Outside Land’s Festival. The only bummer about summer music festivals is that they tend to collide. On the bright side, all of them are practically hailing the same line-up. But Outside Lands however, has a kick-ass bill! Similar to Coachella, they don’t focus on just all the “big name” bands. They have a very unique and talented diverse set of smaller bands that float off the mainstream radar―and that’s what’s drawing me to this musical journey.

With that said, I will most definitely be up in SF that weekend rolling with the San Fran crew. We’ve been planning that shit since Coachella! I just know the inevitable is going to happen: not seeing every band on my list. Check out the full Outside Lands line-up here!

My top picks

Friday Saturday
Sunday

Dave Matthews Band
The Mars Volta

TV on the Radio
Conor Oberst & The Mystic
Valley Band

Raphael Saadiq
Os Mutantes
Deerhunter
Lila Downs
Zion I

Bat For Lashes
Dengue Fever
The Dirtbombs
Infantree


M.I.A.
Modest Mouse

Band of Horses
The Dead Weather
Atmosphere
Alpha Blondy
The Avett Brothers
Calexico
Heartless Bastards
Lenka
John Vanderslice
Matt & Kim
The Morning Benders
Big Light





Actions

Information

3 responses

3 08 2009
Kara Murphy

Ha ha ha, you X ed out the same bands as I did (as in skip this crap). Look forward to getting back in the photo pit. All my photos will be up on Flickr tonight, hopefully.

Can’t wait for OSL!

6 08 2009
New Outside Lands Headliner Announced: Tenacious D « Grimy Goods

[…] we’re totally stoked to have Tenacious D added to the exciting Outside Lands bill and ready to rock and make us […]

2 09 2009
Outside Lands Festival 2009 Day 2 « Grimy Goods

[…] Lands Festival 2009 Day 2 2 09 2009 I danced my ass off on Day 2 of Outside Lands! Although I missed a shit load of bands I was set to see, I had an amazing time partying and […]

Leave a Reply

